HomeGrown Wisdom


Half Marathon on the horizon
September 19, 2014, 10:30 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I have been talking about this for a while, well a few years anyway. Finally, I decided to put up or shut up. I want to run a half marathon. So, I paid my dues to join a training group. Let the fun begin. I have been training for about a month now. So far, so good! No injuries. The Nudge factor was paying to join a training group. The next nudge, a discount on the race itself with the group. Done;I have registered for the Blues half marathon in Jackson, MS in January 2015. My pacer is a retired Navy guy. Retired from Entergy, actually someone my husband knows. He’s my age. Yep, and he’s done lots of these. I am also meeting other people with similar stories; old and young, fist timers and multi-timers.
You basically run your half marathon miles in the week. A schedule of day by day lengths. Longest so far, 5 miles. I can tell that my breathing is getting more relaxed. I can actually carry on a conversation while running! As the weather gets cooler, I expect this to get even better.
Then there are the gadgets. A GPS running watch, check. Hand held water bottle, check. Oh yeah, a package of jelly belly sports beans to consume for energy, check.
I still cannot even imagine myself running 13.1 miles. Maybe I won’t, but I am willing to work hard toward that goal. It was now or never! I will keep you posted.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment